Friday Night Live builds partnerships for positive and healthy youth development
which engage youth as active leaders and resources in their communities.

Let your voice be heard! 

Share your opinions with State Legislators on the following policies with potential to greatly impact public safety in the state of California: 

SB 58: 4am Bar Bill - Take Action!

Bill Text: 

SB 58, as amended, Wiener. Alcoholic beverages: hours of sale.
The Alcoholic Beverage Control Act provides that any on- or off-sale licensee, or agent or employee of the licensee, who sells, gives, or delivers to any person any alcoholic beverage between the hours of 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. of the same day, and any person who knowingly purchases any alcoholic beverages between those hours, is guilty of a misdemeanor. Existing law provides for moneys collected as fees pursuant to the act to be deposited in the Alcohol Beverage Control Fund, with those moneys generally allocated to the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control upon appropriation by the Legislature.
This bill, beginning January 1, 2022, 2021, and before January 2, 2027, 2026, would require the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to conduct a pilot program that would authorize the department to issue an additional hours license to an on-sale licensee located in a qualified city which that would authorize, with or without conditions, the selling, giving, or purchasing of alcoholic beverages at the licensed premises between the hours of 2 a.m. and 4 a.m., upon completion of specified requirements by the qualified city in which the licensee is located. The bill would impose specified fees related to the license to be deposited in the Alcohol Beverage Control Fund. The bill would require the applicant to notify specified persons of the application for an additional hours license and would provide a procedure for protest and hearing regarding the application. The bill would require the Department of the California Highway Patrol and each qualified city that has elected to participate in the program to submit reports to the Legislature and specified committees regarding the regional impact of the additional hours licenses, as specified. The bill would provide that any person under 21 years of age who enters and remains in the licensed public premises during the additional serving hours without lawful business therein is guilty of a misdemeanor, as provided. The pilot program would apply to Cathedral City, Coachella, Fresno, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, Palm Springs, Sacramento, San Francisco, and West Hollywood.

 

Click here to read the complete bill text


AB1713: Reducing Legal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit to 0.05 - Take Action!

Thirty-one percent of all traffic crashes in the U.S. involve an alcohol-impaired driver. 
In 2013, the National Highway Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recommended that all states decrease the illegal blood alcohol limit from .08 to .05 BAC, a level at which the risk of crashing increases by 39%.

Bill text: 

AB 1713, as introduced, Burke. Vehicles: driving under the influence.
Existing law prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle when the person has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood.
This bill would instead prohibit a person from driving a motor vehicle when the person has 0.05 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood.

Click here to read the complete bill text